The Wonders of Shea Butter

Nature fascinates me dearly, be it the wildebeest migration of the penguins migration, I get very excited learning more about nature and most importantly food. Shea butter is my new BFF, I use it all the time on my skin and I would STRONGLY recommend to anyone and everyone who would like to avoid skin cancer.

Shea butter is a nut butter extracted from the Afrikan Shea Tree that grows mostly in Afrika so it is a natural product but you have to make sure you get the unrefined organic version, I am currently using shea butter from Botswana but I am planning to buy some from Sudan, at Healthy U shops across East Africa. At Galleria Mall it goes for KES 700 for 300 grammes. I know, it seems expensive but the health benefits you derive from this nut butter are heavenly divine.

  • Prevents hair loss. Yes, I have done this myself and I am already seeing a difference.
  • Shea butter is good for all kinds of skin rashes, itches, bites anything and everything.
  • It is a great deodorant. I threw away my aluminium-laden deos and just rub some shea butter in my armpits and smell fresh all day.
  • Great for wounds as I explained in a while back.
  • Prevents and clears stretch marks. I eaves dropped on a convo at the healthy U store and googled it…it is true.
  • One of the best shaving creams I have ever used in my life, but I cheat and double it up with aloe vera soap for that extra smooth feel without any itchy sensations.
  • An excellent mosquito reppellant, just apply some on your head and the mosquitoes will keep off.

Shea butter can also be used in cooking though it is very uneconomical, I would rather cook with wild organic extra virgin coconut oil, which is cheaper and has its great health benefits as well.

57 thoughts on “The Wonders of Shea Butter

  1. Pingback: Cosmetics = Cancer | Healthy Living Kenya

      • Hi Eunice, Sorry for delayed response. Thanks for interest in shea butter. There are changes with our supplier. I will have something for you by Monday morning. Send me your number so I can call you then.

        Regards Alice

    • @ Anthony, I can send it to you because we do not have sales people there yet. You have to pay for transportation though. How many cans do you want?

  2. Hi. Thanks Shinaz, glad you liked it. All those who want some, send me your mobile numbers and orders at nyarobare@yahoo.com. I will be in town tomorrow and will hook you up. The price has gone up to Kshs 600 coz supplier claims increased import tax. Just 50 bob extra for a genuinely unrefined shea butter product.

  3. Hi. Alice here. Just to inform blog visitors am no longer in the shea butter business. Thanks to all customers and hope the product is working for you. Thanks to Kahonge for your blog, it got me some business.

    Am now selling chia seeds. so if you are interested contact me. GBU

  4. Hi there my name is Toria I have unrefined pure shea butter, if you are still interested you can contact me at info.louvelle@gmail.com.
    p.s will be in Nairobi from the 17th to the 20th of April, so let me know how much you need and if you have any friends interested too.
    Good day!

  5. hallo everyone , am looking for african shea butter 100 natural in nairobi kenya urgently.anyone with a number i can call kindly assist

Leave a Reply

