The paleo era, between 10 000 years ago and 2.6 million years ago is when human beings thrived the best. There were no such things as genetically engineered wheat or pesticides, everything was organic, wild and natural. I would kill to live in those ages…yes there was no internet or high speed travel, but at least there was no cancer, high blood pressure nor dermititis. In the stone age, we hunted and gathered our food, leaving us with a diet of lean meats, fish, nuts, seeds and vegetables. There was no pizza, no candy, no soda, just water, coconut water and other natural refreshments. gopaleo

Lean Meats & Fish

Back in the day, man used to eat mostly wild game meat from buffalo, deer, warthog and such, which did exist free range and was not injected by growth hormones and antibiotics. I am not saying we switch to game but other lean red meats could be better like goat, lamb, lean cuts of pork like pork tenderloin.

Personally I love fish and since I increased it on my diet, I have been much better. The omega 3 fats and invaluable to your body and brain as well as the good balance of polyunsatruated and saturated fats. Samon packs a heavy punch of immune-boosting vitamin D thought quite expensive. I also like eating a variety of fish so I go to the city market and ask for Indian Ocean fish varieties.

Nuts & Seeds

I strongly advise my weight loss clients to include a variety of nuts and seeds into their diet and it never fails. I like pistachios more than anything else but I balance my nut pantry with macadamias, cashews, walnuts, almonds, pecans but mostly pistachios due to their sweetness and high mineral content like magnesium. Almost all nuts should be consumed raw because heat kind of spoils the sensitive good fats. Of course you have to lighty roast pitschios to get them out of their shells, and maybe toast some peanuts but most nuts are best eaten raw.

Hemp seeds are king and is not the same thing as weed. Hemp seeds can’t make you high, not that it is a bad thing but FYI, the psychoactive chemical, 9-delta tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is not significantly present in the seeds of hemp but rather in the bud or flower. If you get your hemp seeds from healthy U, they will probably be derived from industrial hemp whose buds do not even have THC. Hemp seeds are a complete food and contain carbs, proteins, vitamins, fats, enzymes and phytonutrients all vital for human life. You can actually live off hemp seeds and water alone.

Pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, cumin seeds, star anise seeds, sunflower seeds and flax seeds are all available at healthy U and all are technically superffoods given the broad spectrum of nutrition they bring to the table.

You do not need justification to eat more vegetables do you?

The only caveat with this diet is that is is extremely hard to get good quality organic meats and eggs, So I get most of my protein from spirulina and legumes like lentils.

