I loooooove juice. And am not talking about minute maid, del a mere/monte whatever, no, freshly squeezed juice. Ever since my mum started making noise with the juicer at home, I have always been intrigued. This is like 5, 6 years ago when I started drinking homemade juice. My life has never been the same.

First of all, my skin just became better, smoother, more moist. I used to have some pimples but that’s history. Thanks to a good combination of vegetables and fruit juices. My mother always juices with pineapples and green vegetables, spinach, terere, kale << most organically grown. I lost some weight, became more energetic and when I moved to live around Catholic University, I just had to carry a juicer with me from home.

When you juice, you activate the enzymes in the food and consume them raw. Enzymes are catalysts that make nutrients work and heat kills enzymes. Hence it is quintessential to consume raw living foods everyday, when was the last time you ate raw veg? Do you eat 5 servings of vegetables a day? and you wonder why you have all those health and weight problems.

Eating 5 servings of vegetables is tricky so it is best to ‘cheat’ this by juicing. In one 200ml glass, you can easily have you 5 servings, then eat 2 servings just to be safe.

Juice Combinations

I know broccoli juice is not music to the ears but just adding a simple citrus fruit to the equation and voila, vegetable juice is transformed into quite a tasty drink. Nowadays I am hardcore, I can drink managu juice as is, but for starters, I would advice to mix veg like cabbage with orange juice, or beets with carrots and apples.

Lemon juice makes veg juice taste much better. I know that sounds ridiculous, I was also skeptical about this but I knew that lemon juice made my stinging nettle more palatable so I just had to try and I was amazed. Just run some kale in your juice and then squeeze the lemon, don’t mind the seeds, they have a lot of nutrition. You can throw in some left over pasrley and maybe some berries, be creative 🙂

