The first time I was in a tea factory I vomited like crazy. This was way back in the day, maybe when I was 6,7 year old during a primary school trip in Limuru. I opted to stay in the bus while the other kids were given milk and told to bear with the foul smell that comes from a tea factory. Fast forward to 2014, I now dislike tea, with a passion, at least highly refined black tea that made me puke years ago. Of course when I started healthy living, it was one of the first things to be chopped off my shopping lists and in came ginger, comparably a very inexpensive alternative to the nutrient-void tea that is very common in Kenyan breakfast menus.

So one day I found myself at java on a meeting and was just looking for something simple, healthy and the ginger tea with lemon and honey caught my eye. After taking the first sip of that bitter-sweet goodness, I had an epiphany, I knew this was going to be one of my fav drinks to replace tea or coffee to get that morning buzz.

As a chef, it did not take me long to know the exact technique which is really easy to make and you can enjoy it both hot and cold.

Ginger Tea Recipe

Ginger of course has a myriad of health benefits including (but not limited to) anti-inflammation, anticancer, good for digestive health, In fact ginger boosts your immune system so you are well safe-guarded against almost all diseases. And on top of that, this tea will give you more energy and morning buzz than any even any decaffeinated drink.

  1. Crush 1 small bulb of ginger with a rolling pi on your cutting board, much better and faster technique to access all the nutrition.
  2. Bring to boil 1.5 cups of water and then add the crushed ginger.
  3. Reduce heat to low and simmer for at least 10 minutes.
  4. Sweeten with honey and flavour with lemon/lime juice and enjoy. You can also order some cookies from me that go very well with this tea 🙂

ginger tea cokies

