At first I was not convinced. How could a simple act of swishing oil inside your mouth bear so vast health benefits? but after trying out a couple of times, I did see the change and immediately got sold on the idea of this ancient ayurvedic practice that has been used for thousands of years to not only provide perfect oral care but also treat a myriad of ailments.

What you simply do is you put about a table spoon of high quality organic extra virgin oil like coconut/olive/sesame oils then you swish it in between your teeth and all over your mouth for about 20 minutes a day. The major hypothesis of this theory holds that there are various pathogens (bacteria) that multiply fast inside your mouth and go into other parts of your body to wreak havoc.

The way I go about it is I just do it while taking a shower so I don’t get distracted easily. I swish the oil for about 10 minutes and since I work out shower twice a day, I end up oil-pulling twice a day. Oh it’s important to spit it out into the toilet or bin since coconut oil will solidify in room temperature and perhaps block your drainage.Sometimes I add some turmeric in the oil to enhance the effects and after finishing I brush my teeth with baking soda + salt + lemon juice to get rid of any toxic residue.

List of Benefits of Oil Pulling

  • Detoxifies the whole body
  • Whitens and strengthens teeth
  • Maintains fresh clean breath all day
  • Reduces risk of cardiovascular disease
  • Helps manage blood sugar in diabetics
  • Reduces inflammation so great for arthritis
  • Improves vision
  • Enhances kidney support
  • boosts immune function

 
http://lifespa.com/the-truth-about-oil-pulling/

http://www.naturalnews.com/040293_oil_pulling_cognitive_decline_home_remedies.html

