The Most Simple Meditation Technique

Mindfulness meditation is my best friend simply because it relaxes my mind and body on top of the plethora of health benefits it has been proven to bring. I began meditating about 4-5 years ago and I can provide testimony on the immense advantages of taking a deep breath and relaxing. First I did it to calm my muscles after a morning jog but after learning more about meditation and yoga, I meditate mindfully for about 3 times a day, 3-4 minutes, nothing crazy, but effective.

Apart from the physiological benefits that I have experienced from meditating, the spiritual and psychological benefits are the ones which have been vital for me.

meditating in the wild

Mindful meditation in the forest

Keeping Your Cool

I was never a short-tempered fella but I used to get very agitated with little things like power black out, water shortages and I also wasted time beefin with haters online. But after embracing mindful meditation and yoga, I am never angry, the toxic words; hate, stress, ugly, doubt, anxiety never appear in my vocabulary. I always see the glass half full, no matter the situation, there is always a lesson to learn and learning is good.

Meditation also helps me calm down whenever I am nervous before doing a presentation or cooking in front of a big crowd.

How To Meditate

There are so many ways to meditate but the most effective one I just learned about it yesterday;

  • sit up-right comfortably in a chair or on the ground cross-legged (yoga mat or blanket or towel or caret will do)
  • breath deeply for 5 seconds trying not to think about much but if thoughts do come, let it be…I always say, ‘Think about your thoughts’
  • hold your breath for another 5 seconds
  • repeat this for at least a minute, 3 times a day and you will thank me later 🙂

Namaste

http://themindunleashed.org/2014/04/neuroscientist-explains-meditation-changes-brain.html

Leave a Reply

