So, this blog post came into being after I wrote quite a comprehensive comment on an article at Mind Body Green where a certain vegan cardiologist seems to be very negative against paleo enthusiast, yet on this video he clearly lost the argument and you can see for yourself, he is a little bit overweight than the two other doctors. One thing I have noticed about vegans, some tend to be overweight, I don’t know about you but I would rather get nutritional advice from two lean and fit doctors who a for the delicious things in life like grass fed beef, free range eggs.

paleo_food_pyramid

Below the image is the comment, which was also countering his argument that the Maasais don’t live long yet he has no first hand experience nor solid evidence, the study he sighted seemed to shoddy for me.

“Paleo is not about eating meat all day. For me it is about eating more natural unprocessed foods that we have been used to eating for a long time: veggies, fruits, nuts, seeds, meat, fish, eggs and maybe new superfoods like spirulina. It also includes walking and doing more physical activities, enjoying plenty of sunshine, drinking spring water, living in-sync with the natural rhythms of day and light i.e. sleeping at night and also avoiding eating at night.

Ever since I reduced my grain consumption I have been healthier, more energetic, more productive and happier.

It is A Lifestyle, Not Diet

I have never even suffered a headache ever since I started a “modified paleo lifestyle”. I just feel amazing. Not the same case when I was eating a lot of beans and grains especially wheat, even if it is organic wholegrain Kamut, still gives me heartburn.

Being Kenyan I can say with first hand experience that the Maasai are one of the healthiest communities in Kenya and some parts of East Africa. In fact most of them are even traditional herbalists/healers and walk around the capital city with their amazing herbal concoctions that I have also tried to great effect. They love their raw milk, they drink blood and eat raw organ meats as well together with a myriad of wild herbs and plants. They are lean and most of them are super-healthy.”

