I was very excited to see Nakumatt (Galleria) stock an aisle full of healthy Asian foods. Okay, it is not a full aisle, say half but it was really stocked and I decided to try out three items first. The Loose leaf green tea, soba noodles and dried sea weed.

Why Asian you ask? Simply because thosse people are the healthiest, leanest and live longest in the world. They gotta be doing something right?

Specifically the Japanese, the eat a lot of unprocessed or minimally processed foods which are still delicious, simple, quick and easy to make.

Buckwheat (Soba) Noodles

I have already blogged about these amazing and healthy noodles and I just can’t get enough of them. Traditionally, the ratio of buckwheat to whole wheat flour is usually 4:1 because you need the wheat to help with binding. That said, it is still super healthy and one of my favorite quick healthy carbs that I just cook in a healthy bone broth with some butchery sausage and I have a quick meal. That is why it is very important to have broth in your fridge at all times. The noodles were about Ksh 380 for 250g. Which is reasonably priced and you don’t need to eat a lot to get full, in fact they noodles double in size when cooked and are very filling due to the nutritious buckwheat.

SAM_4595

 

Loose Leaf Green Tea

Simple tea leaves that have been picked then dried. This is the best healthiest tea you can get due to the minimal processing and it tastes really good when sweetened with honey.

loose leaf green tea

I have not used the seaweed yet but I think  Iwill try it in the broth first, experiment a few recipes then share.

