I was watching Royco fuata flava and the first thing I noticed is the lack of simplicity. Most people were just guessing and hoping the dish turns out great. I saw trillions of ingredients and condiments on most people’s tables.

Leonardy-da-Vinci-Quote-Simplicity

Of course I never use royco, I am real Chef…we use real spices/spice blends with no additives like MSG or coloring. I was just watching to see the state of cooking in Kenya which also affects my blogging and what not…gotta be relevant you know.

Even the judging Chef did not impress me…he boiled cauliflower and used BBQ sauce from a bottle. I almost cried. Homemade BBQ sauce is one of the easiest sauces to make and it takes like 10 – 15 minutes. You have to roast or sear the cauliflower to get the best flava from it.

Great food is all about great ingredients and keeping it simple with a little but of informed cooking technique. My favorite dishes which are loved by the crowd are ALWAYS simple dishes using fresh and natural ingredients.

Anyway, it is a decent show…I learnt something from one of the contestants…about a dish called bubbling squeak…nice way to use veggies.

