So, last year when I ruptured my Achilles tendon, I was forced to be immobile for almost 4 months. I was not as physically active as usual and the stress led me to probably eating and drinking more stuff than I need – which I got very used to. Needless to say, I gained weight. The highest reading on the scale was about 81 KG and I knew then that something had to be done. Good thing I have an idea or two on how to lose weight with ease. Yesterday, I clocked in 71 KG which most of it was lost in the last 3 months. This is what I did.

Elimination of Sugar & Alcohol

Yup, I was taking a little sugar in my cocktails but I quit sugar. I even quit alcohol just recently. It’s just not my thing. I feel amazing, fresh, focused and I have a little more money in my pocket than when I was drinking. Plus I don’t need nasty hangovers in my life. I need to feel 110% every day.

Sugar is just too many calories and alcohol is just too much empty calories, especially if you drink beer. You might want to tone it down a little or lose it all together, it’s never that serious. Your wallet and belly will thank you.

Portion Control

The stomach is the size of a clenched fist. When you put too much food the excess just gets converted into fat and deposited around the belly, hence belly fat. The worst thing is that the belly is the first one to fatten but it is the last part of the body that loses weight if your are on that path.

The trick is to use smaller plates, smaller bowls and smaller cups. Drink a lot of water which makes you feel full and eat a lot of fresh fruit like sugarcane, green apples, oranges and bananas.

Beans, bean, beans

I know some people can’t digest beans but if you can, go crazy over them. They have a lot of protein, fibre, minerals, vitamins and antioxidants that nourish you, help to keep you full and they are easy to hack, in terms of cooking as you can buy already boiled beans from the market or freezer section in the supermarket.

If you use dry beans, soak them overnight and boil them with lotsa garlic, ginger, carrots, dania, hoho, chili pepper, onion and tomato. Make a broth and have it. It is very good for you and keeps you full for hours on end. Ndengu aka mung beans are my fav. The cook fast, after an overnight soak, they taste great and they are easy to cook. You just sweat crushed garlic, ginger, chopped tomato, dania, onion, chili, hoho and cook on low heat for about 5 minutes. Add the ndengu with soaking water, mix a little flour in a small cup with equal parts water, then add to thicken the stew, add salt, taste, simmer for about 30 minutes on medium-low heat. Consume with sauteed kale/broccoli/terere nad brown rice or brown chapati.

Smoothies & Water

I love a green smoothie. It keeps me full even all day, as long as it has some chia seeds for protein. (You can get chia seeds  delivered to you free Nairobi CBD, just call 0725 793 936). I soak them in water for about 15 minutes, then I add managu or sukuma, bananas, green apples, maybe some oranges or lemon juice – that is the most basic smoothie. You can add fresh herbs like basil, mint or even more fruit like watermelon, pineapple if you want it a little sweeter.  Blend it up and drink it up. sam_5676

Also take your water like your life was depending on it, because it does :). If you take smoothies every day, you won’t need much but ideally, you want about 2 litres of this quintessential liquid in your system.

Exercise

Nothing extreme, just brisk walking and/or light jogging works. Since my injury, I only jog like once a month, but I walk twice every day. Not on a treadmill, outside but if you have no option, the gym can work too. I clock about 1 hour – 2 hours of walking a day. It helps to clear my mind and I have even hacked new recipes while on a stroll in the hood.

I also do some dancing and Zumba very often, before I sleep and it helps me rest better. It is fun and almost free. You just need some music and some movement.

 

 

