I love fish. The first time I tasted some was when a neighbour moved in the hood from Kisumu. They brought fried and dried tilapia from Lake Victoria and we ate them for days. This delicious fish from Naivas Butchery, Hazina branch, reminds me of that. So tasty and fresh.

SAM_1622

On top of that, it’s not expensive, I mean, this is Naivas. Ksh 750 a Kg for wild tilapia is very reasonable. They get larger fishes which the deeper waters and far from pollution, meaning the taste is cleaner and just delicious.

Getting big fishes is the sustainable way to fish because the older the fish gets, the more babies they will get, keeping the numbers healthy. That is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT.

  1. Add sea salt, freshly ground black pepper and lemon zest to the fish.
  2. Heat a wide nonstick pan, medium heat. I use my chapati pan which became nonstick after using for so long. You can also use cast iron pan.
  3. Add oil, cook one side for about 4-5 minutes, then the other side for about 4-5 minutes, rest for 4 minutes then slice the biggest part to confirm that it is cooked.
    Bright white means it is done, translucent means it could use a few more minutes. ALWAYS confirm.

    SAM_1623