Believe it or not, I was not a health fanatic in my younger years. I enjoyed plenty of junk food which had my immune system not up to par. I could get sick easily: colds, malaria etc. When I started eating healthily and exercising. My natural defense against disease improved massively. Even my skin became smoother, hair, stronger, darker and longer. I got hooked by healthy living. Here are some of the vital changes I made to my lifestyle.

  1. Water
    Drink at least 2 litres of water everyday. It helps to improve all bodily functions, boosts metabolism (hence even great) and also helps with detoxification that subsequently improves your immunity. Legit spring water is king but also filtered tap (or rain) water is very very good. If not available, just drink the water you can access. Start with 1 litre in the morning, then the rest slowly in the day.
  2. Dark leafy greens
    These veggies have the highest concentration of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and phytochemicals. Especially kienyeji veggies like managu, kanzira, terere, mrenda etc. Cabbage and sukuma ile fupi are very good too. If you can grow them, even better. You can learn to cook them using my cookbook that is Ksh 200 now. Making them taste good will make you want to eat them more.
  3. Local fruits
    We have a bounty of nutritious and delicious fruits in Kenya. Always try to get those that are in season, like the green avocado (fuerte) is now in season. Local oranges, lemons, bananas, mangoes, pawpaws, pineapples and watermelons are all very good for boosting your immune system.
  4. Protein
    I’m talking kienyeji eggs, cow/beef liver, kienyeji chicken, goat, beef are good sources of protein and vitamins. Beans are also amazing, especially when mixed with brown rice or maize. Sprouts are even better and take less time to cook.
  5. Healthy Carbs
    You need carbs for energy and there are healthy ones like cassava, (arrowroot) nduma, sweet potatoes, wimbi, unga ya mahindi ya kisiagi, mtama, brown rice and so on. These unprocessed carbs will not make you gain weight because they are digested slowly unlike spaghetti, white rice etc
  6. Exercise
    Physical activity is very important for boosting your immune system. 10000 steps a day is the general consensus. I even have an app that counts my steps and I make sure to reach my 10k everyday. Great options are Yoga, dancing, Zumba, aerobics, swimming or even doing your chores.
  7. Manage Stress
    We are living in testing times but people have gone through worse. Too much stress is not good for the immune system so try to watch the news for not more than 10 minutes in a day. Also try to read positive stuff, like I always Google, ‘Corona Virus vaccine update’, and the progress they’re making always gives me hope and a positive attitude.

Try to watch more comedy or look at memes. Classic football matches are also a great way to pass the time. When you’re chatting with friends, from a good distance of course, crack jokes and talk about good memories you have. Very important.